Lazariter church, Gfenn-Dübendorf (ZH)
The beginning of the Lazarite church dates back to 1326 ac and was built in the style of the Romanesque,
consisting of a rectangular church nave, which is adjoined by a narrow chancel chamber.
The order of Saint Lazarus of Jerusalem is a Roman Catholic military order founded by crusaders around 1119 at a leper hospital in Jerusalem, Kingdom of Jerusalem, whose care became its original purpose, named after patron Saint Lazarus. It was recorganised by King Fulk of Jerusalem in 1142 and canonically recorganised as hospitaller and military order of chivalry under the rule of Saint Augustine in the Papal bull Cum a Nobis Petitur of Pope Alexander IV in 1255. The titular seat was successively situated at Jerusalem, Saint-Jean-d'Acre and - after the fall of the Kingdom of Jerusalem - the Château Royal de Boigny-sur-Bionne in France.
After several centuries, the order went into decline and ceased to perform its original functions after the French Revolution.
The order of Lazarus was and is an ecumenical oriented order. Admission to the order is open to baptized Christians of all churches, who are based on the Nicene-Constantinople. It has been the order of the order of Lazarus, the only order of the Western Church, the Eastern Church, the Evangelical Church and the Anglican Church.
The Lazariter Church in Gfenn is today still the Center of the Swiss Branch of this order - the members meet once every year for there general meeting.
mGfenn, Dübendorf is near the airport of Zurich (15 minutes) and close to down town Zurich area (also 15 minutes).
The hamlet of Gfenn is a quiet place framed by large green space.
All necessary services you may need for the most important day of a bride are withn conveniant distances.
In fact, it is one of the nicest spots in the suburb of Zurich (that is why Travelwell has its headoffice located in the center of this lovely little village.
In 1961/62, medieval paintings were discovered during preliminary investigations on the restoration. On the northern wall of the nave, there was originally a picture cycle representing the Passion of Christ. There still are three fields partly preserved: they show the scourge of Jesus, to the east the remains of the crowning with thorns and to the west Christ with a crown of thorns and a pipe as scepte
The painting by Zurich's artist Max Rüedi at the main portal shows four scenes from the parable of the Good Samaritan. He also created the new window in the round window above the portal. The ironwork was carried out by the art locksmith Karl Rauser. The sculptor and iron sculptor Silvio Mattioli from Winterthur made the two iron anchors under the steps of the stairs and a bell-holder with a rooster on the south side of the choir. The organ was built by Späth Orgelbau from Rapperswil, according to the architect Rolf Keller.