Church St. Maria, Lantsch (GR)
In the year 831, the church is mentioned for the first time. The walls of the
church ship date from this period. In the 12th century, to this first complex, a flat-faced church ship with half-aisled apse and a Romanesque tower, was added. In 1504/05, the choir was rebuilt,
the long house arched and windows were installed. According to an inscription behind the altar, the well-known Peter von Bamberg was the builder of this addition. On October 7, 1509, the church
was reopened with three altars by the auxiliary bishop from Chur, Stephan Tschuggeli. The sacristy and the vestibule were added a few years later.
In 1626 a first renovation took place and after 1663 (when a new church inside the village was inaugurated) the church of St. Maria was only used as burial church. A threatening collapse was prevented from 1909 to 1911 by an external renovation. During the subsequent interior renovation in 1913 and 1914, the formerly built gallery and pulpit were removed and the wall paintings of the 14th century were restored by Christian Schmidt from Zurich. During the last restoration from 1991 to 1993, the gray-and-white original version of the merging vault was restored.
The cemetery in front of the church is famous for its ancient wrought-iron grave cross, which had been kept for generations. Around 140 old crosses are to be discovered. They date back to the 16th to the end of the 19th century. Stylistically, about 20 of them are Gothic, about 50 are to be attributed to the Renaissance and the Baroque and the rest to the 19th century. In addition there are about eighty crosses from the 20th century. The graveyard now offers a unique image of a harmonious unity.